segunda-feira, 9 de março de 2009

WILLIE NELSON and Friends: Live and Kickin' [LIVE]DVD-Video, Release Date: June 3, 2003

Willie Nelson and Friends - Live & Kickin' (2005)

Actors: Willie Nelson & Friends
Format: Closed-captioned, Color, Dolby, DVD-Video, Live, NTSC
Language: English
Region: Region 1 (U.S. and Canada only. Read more about DVD formats.)
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
Number of discs: 1
Studio: Lost Highway
DVD Release Date: August 23, 2005
Audio CD (June 24, 2003)
Original Release Date: June 3, 2003
Number of Discs: 1
Format: Live
Label: Lost Highway

The great Willie Nelson tends to either thrill or sorely disappoint, depending on the kinds of projects he takes on--and his decision to be either a musician or a celebrity. This live recording, culled from his 2003 USA Network concert event, unfortunately falls into the latter category, and Nelson sounds as if he arrived just before show time and plunged in without rehearsing. On the album’s opener, "I Didn't Come Here (And I Ain't Leavin')," almost everything is wrong--the chorines, the overwhelming bigness of the production, and most troublesome, Nelson's apparent indifference. Thereafter, the program pairs him with such natural duet partners as Toby Keith and Ray Price, and such utterly unfathomable ones as Steven Tyler and Wyclef Jean, who prove, by turns, unlistenable and insufferable. While Diana Krall and Elvis Costello help give "Crazy" an odd and new kind of charm, Nelson's off-beat phrasing is just to quirky to work with Paul Simon's laconic musings ("Homeward Bound"), while the outing with Ray Charles and Leon Russell ("A Song for You") sounds like a cat-drowning ceremony. Weirdly, the best songs are those on which Nelson simply gets out of the way (John Mellencamp's bottleneck romp through "I Couldn't Believe It Was True," Kenny Chesney's soulful treatment of "Last Thing I Needed First Thing This Morning"). Thank God it's only a single disc. --Alanna Nash

Lost Highway Records: Willie Nelson - [ Traduzir esta página ]
Songs For Tsunami Relief: Austin To South Asia. Album 4/12/2005 ... Willie Nelson & Friends - Live & Kickin'. Album 6/24/2003 ...www.losthighwayrecords.com/artist/releases/release.aspx?pid=688&aid=61 - 54k -

Track List
01. Didn't Come Here [And I Ain't Leavin']
02. Night Life (with Eric Clapton)
03. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain (with Shania Twain)
04. Homeward Bound (with Paul Simon)
05. Beer For My Horses (with Toby Keith)
06. Crazy (with Diana Krall and Elvis Costello)
07. To All The Girls I've Loved Before (with Wyclef Jean)
08. Wurlitzer Prize [I Don't Want To Get Over You] (with Norah Jones)
09. She Loves My Automobile (with ZZ Top)
10. Angel Flying To Close To The Ground (with Shelby Lynne)
11. A Song For You (with Leon Russell and Ray Charles)
12. I Couldn't Believe It Was True (with John Mellencamp)
13. Last Thing I Needed First Thing This Morning (with Kenny Chesney)
14. Run That By Me One More Time (with Ray Price)
15. One Time Too Many (with Steven Tyler)
Recorded live at The Beacon Theatre, New York City on 9 April 2003

DVD Magazine - Revista interativa e independente sobre DVD
Em 2002, vários artistas já haviam homenageado Willie no show Willie Nelson & Friends: Stars & Guitars, gravado na capital da música country, Nashville, ...dvdmagazine.virgula.com.br/Resenhas_musicais/willie_nelson_outlaws.htm - 32k -

Nenhum comentário:

Postar um comentário